New Little Niece

DSC07006I’m so happy to hear that everything went smoothly with the arrival of Claire! I felt so much overwhelming love for her little face as I looked at her pictures and I still can’t believe I won’t get to meet her for a year and a half! How unfair, I’m so jealous you get to hold her! I can’t wait to be able to hold her! Still so weird that Jacob is a Dad. I can’t wrap my brain around it. Her hair doesn’t look that red in the pictures, but maybe it’s just the lighting? Also, how are you going to keep all of your C-named grandchildren apart in your head? Maybe we should just all stick to the pattern and keep the trend going in the years to come.

This week has been good, but tiring. We are starting to see A LOT of Chinese students coming in for the school year ahead, which starts at the end of September. Everyday we see them walking on the streets in groups pushing suitcases around and it’s hard not to just want to run up to them all…or follow them home. So basically being on a mission has turned me into a stalker. Seriously though, Sister Lam and I are on fire with our ambition this transfer and I think we can see some brilliant things happen by the end of it. She is so scared she is going to be transferred out of here in October because she has been here for about 6 months. She has a really close relationship with all the Chinese members, so it will be hard.  I kind of think she will stay for a while longer.  I think I will probably be the one to be transferred out, which I might just cry about. It will be so hard to split up after everything we’ve been through the past months, but lets talk about the good things!

We saw some pretty incredible things happen yesterday, which we know is a result of our fasting and prayer last week. First, Oscar is staying until October now. He has become really important to our work, so we are thrilled, and that’s a total answer to our prayers. Second, we talked with Jim, who was baptized several months ago, at church and had a great discussion with him. He has really been struggling with his belief and faith the past couple of weeks, and it’s been hard because he doesn’t really have a solid member friend to talk to about church, so he brings all of the questions he builds up over the week to us. We’ve been really worried about it lately, but yesterday he told us that he has been praying this week, and that after a few prayers he had an overwhelming feeling of peace and calm about everything. He also told us that he knew we had been praying for him, and that he could feel the strength of that in his life. Last week we met with him and his wife, Jenny at the Gibbs. He is an incredible cook, so he brought us homemade egg tarts. They were so delicious! The Gibbs helped us teach him a little bit with the follow up lessons, and I think that really helped. Third, a good Chinese member, named Cherry, has been bringing her friend to church the past couple of weeks. We have known about her interest in the church for a while, but Cherry has been careful with things because she doesn’t want to scare her away. We talked to Cherry last night and she said that after church, her friend was telling her that she really wants to be baptized! Isn’t that amazing! I think she just is really touched by the spirit when she comes to church, and it’s great because even though we are frustrated with the talks people give sometimes, people ultimately are still able to feel the spirit at church, and that really is the most important thing. So we just felt really blessed yesterday, and I am so convinced of the power of prayer. We are going to try to find a way to start teaching Cherry’s friend, and our vision by the end of this transfer is to have Oscar baptize her. Yea!

Hope everyone is well at home. The house must be lonely without Megan there, but at least you still have the dogs right? But seriously, that must be a hard adjustment for you both, but I have found that change really is a good thing in life. It helps us learn and grow, and maybe it will have that effect for you, even if you feel like you are done learning and growing. I love you. I am so excited for conference coming up, but also sad I can’t be home. Conference always feels like a holiday to me, and I will miss not being home. They are streaming the sessions live here, so that means that we will watch the Saturday morning session at like 6 at night, the afternoon one on Sunday morning, and the Sunday morning session on Sunday night. Apparently they don’t stream the Sunday afternoon because it is too late here. So kind of screwed up, but I’m excited to hear the prophet and apostles speak! I have worn out the Ensign at our flat from last conference, so it will be good to hear some new material. Whenever I go to church and see families together I miss you, and think of that last Sunday that I was with you and you had your arm around me. I miss you!

Cheers!
Sister Zurcher

P.S. New favorite scripture by far this week is Alma 37:36-37.

“Yea, and cry unto God for all thy support; yea, let all thy doings be unto the Lord, and withersoever thou goest let it be in the Lord; yea, let all thy thoughts directed unto the Lord; yea, let the affections of thy heart be placed upon the Lord forever. Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings, and he will direct thee for good; yea, when thou liest down at night lie down unto the Lord, that he may watch over you in your sleep; and when thou risest in the morning let thy heart be full of thanks unto God; and if ye do these things, ye shall be lifted up at the last day.” —Alma 37:36-37

I’m trying to have more of a grateful heart in the morning when I wake up because usually I just am kind of upset that I have to be awake so early. I definitely miss the sweet summer days of sleeping in to my hearts content!

DSC07000

DSC06999

SAM_6939

SAM_6943

SAM_6947

SAM_6960

SAM_6983

SAM_6996

Leave a Reply

