Ahoy!

DSC07219Can anyone guess what language ahoy means hello in? Slovakian! That’s right, we met with a Slovakian family of 7 last night. I don’t know if you remember, but Sheffield, one of the areas in the Leeds mission, was featured in the July Ensign because of the massive amounts of Slovakian people that have joined the church. It’s interesting to have found a family here in Leeds, and the kids are so cute! One of them is about Camille’s age and she reminds me a lot of her, and makes me miss my cute nieces and nephew! So the multicultural saga continues! I wonder if I will ever teach actual British people? Ha ha, just kidding, we have a few we are teaching as well. Sister McReynolds picked up a bit of Slovakian when she served in Sheffield, so we are able to get our message across somewhat. I guess I better start picking it up!

I’m so glad your surgery went well Mom and that Emily could be there to help you through it. It looks like you are having an incredible Fall there. The Fall leaves are kind of a disappointment here, they sort of just die on the tree and then fall off. I don’t know why, but I was so worried about you having surgery this week. I’ve been thinking about it all week, dreaming up worst case scenarios (crap did you pass that on to me??) But of course everything was fine, and it looks like your recovery will be quick!

So now to answer some of your questions. Firstly, and most importantly, the fried Mars bars (equivalent of Milky ways) were AMAZING! If you ever have the chance to try a fried candy bar, don’t let the opportunity pass you by. Ha ha. Second, Sister McReynolds is the best! You seriously couldn’t meet a nicer person and I’m so happy to be with her. She seriously knows the area SO well. We are all focusing on Christlike attributes this transfer, and were supposed to focus in on one in particular. I chose hope, which is kind of a hard one to set goals for and try to develop. But, I was reading something the other day though that was talking about hope, and it said something like “enduring and lasting hope is an orientation of your spirit toward God.” Wow, what a powerful thought. When we get down and let ourselves get to a point where we feel hopeless, we are allowing the adversary to act upon us and perpetuate those feelings, but when we earnestly and actively turn to God, He will give us the light we need in order to keep going. I think there is always light at the end of the tunnel, we just have to have the eyes to see it.

Thanks for all the updates about the family! It almost felt like we had a usual little phone chat catch up like when I used to live in Tucson. Today we had a P-day with the whole zone which was great fun. We had some capture the flag, Nerf wars, food, and of course a Disney movie. It’s so great to be able to associate with so many great people! Please keep up the prayers for me! I love you to pieces!

Love, Sister Zurcher

DSC07227

DSC07222

DSC07221

DSC07220

Leave a Reply

