Bus Troubles

DSC07456

I think I’ve had problems with buses before, but you probably won’t believe this story. A couple of weeks ago we were on our way to Thanksgiving dinner with one of the families in the ward. We were late and we just missed the bus we needed, so we had to improvise with another bus and so we were both kind of frazzled. We were on one of the accordion buses, where it’s basically two buses connected together, so it was super long. It was really full, so I went all the way to the very back where there was a spare seat, and Sister Wynder was standing sort of in the middle. We continued on our journey like this. I had never been to this particular house, so I was relying on Sister Wynder for direction. Pretty soon she started walking up towards the front of the bus, and so I thought maybe she was getting off. There were two different doors on this bus, since it was so long, and since I had kind of lost sight of Sister Wynder, I panicked and thought she had gotten off, so I was sort of peeking out the door closest to me to see if I could see her. So at this point I’m kind of half in and half out of the bus, but I just can’t see her, and so I’m not sure if I should stay on, or get off. The next thing I know the bus doors are closing, and since I’m standing in the doorway, they close onto me, pretty much right down the middle. So I’m just stuck in the bus doors, and everyone in the back portion of the bus is staring at me. This was probably one of the most embarrassing moments of my life ha. So, at this point, I have to slide out from between the bus doors, and the only way I can get out is to get off the bus. So I get off, and walk towards the front of the bus as it’s driving away, and sure enough see my companion driving away with it. Luckily we had two phones that week, so she calls me up and we both just start laughing. We were reunited at the next bus stop. To cut a long story short, we made it to Thanksgiving dinner that night, safe and sound. I think all that was hurt was my pride. But the next bus we were able to catch we went upstairs and couldn’t stop laughing about it the whole way there.

I think you can see from my pictures that I’ve been reunited with the lovely Chinese people. Our friend Jane, is getting baptized next weekend. She is so so prepared, and her faith is so strong. These people are just an endless example to me. I was sitting in sacrament meeting yesterday, just feeling so happy. This was incredible to me because Sundays are usually the days I am the most homesick, but I just couldn’t help feeling happy. Serving by Sister Wynder’s side feels like I’m am serving with a sister, like Megan or Emily. It’s a good thing to feel that way during Christmas transfer. I can’t say enough good things about Sister Wynder. She is an incredible missionary, and I can tell what a close relationship she has with the Lord.  She is an example to me.

I love you all, and can’t wait to talk to you so soon! I’m pretty sure we will be able to do a google hangout to try and get everyone there. Be there or be square!

Love, Sister Zurcher

DSC07457

DSC07458

DSC07466

DSC07468

DSC07473

Leave a comment