Amen to Action!

DSC07695

What a crazy past couple of weeks! It feels like this transfer has flown by. This week we went to tea at a woman’s house who has been away from the church for years and years. She has a thriteen year old son and has recently been coming back to church. I think she finally realized that having a relationship with God is important, and is trying to do the things now to build that relationship. When we had dinner with her she was on her 10th day of not smoking. The spirit was so strong in her home. She still has a battle ahead of her I think, but the Lord is helping her.

A new missionary just came in this last week and she stayed with us for about 24 hours. She is from mainland China. I think we have about 5 or 6 missionaries from mainland China total, which is pretty incredible. Most of them found the church through studying in other countries. Transfer calls are a week from today, so email will be on Tuesday just FYI…where I will go, nobody knows! Sorry I have been inconsistent with emails. Just be patient with me. I’m doing my best trying to balance everything.

We also had a new member fireside last night which was great! Our ward mission leader is really on the ball. It was kind of chance for everyone there to contemplate their conversion and what the church means to us. I shared the moment when I came to know Heavenly Father was there. I remember I had had a pretty hard year at uni that year and I was home for the summer. It was a late summer morning and the sun was filtering through my blinds and warm on my back. I knelt down by my bed and offered a simple prayer. I asked Heavenly Father if he was there. The familiar words of a primary song we sing as kids immediately entered into my mind. Speak, I am here. The accompanying feeling of peace and love was undeniable.

Also we went on exchange this week to a nearby town, Otley. I took my little blue suitcase with stuff for the overnight visit. Everything was going fine, but then I realized I had left my suitcase on the train…luckily it went straight back to Leeds. So much for brushing my teeth that night ha. I feel like experiences like this exemplify missionary life. You have to let the little things go and figure that things will work out for the best anyway. Luckily the flat had a lot of flogged clothes, and I dug out a cozy onesie for pajamas.

Thank goodness for Sister Wynder. She has saved my life this transfer. I don’t know what I would do without her! I guess we’ll find out next week if we get split up. Whatever happens will work out for the best though. The best is yet to come.

Oh, by the way my subject line is something President Pilkington keeps talking about. He says amen is something we say more than anything else in church and meetings. He tells us that we need to apply the things we talk and pray about more. President is brilliant. I can’t say enough on this subject.

That’s all for this week. Also, my theme for this transfer is D&C 108:7-8. Possibly my all-time favorite scripture.
“Therefore, strengthen your brethren in all your conversation, in all your prayers, in all your exhortations, and in all your doings. And behold, and lo, I am with you to bless you and deliver you forever. Amen.”—D&C 108:7-8

Love you lots,
Sister Zurcher

P.S. Tracy Lund is the coolest

DSC07704

DSC07701

DSC07697

DSC07692

DSC07681

DSC07677

DSC07675

Leave a Reply

