Happy Independence Day to the rebels!

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Happy Fourth everyone!

Do you want to know what I did? The closest thing I could get to America was an A&W root beer float. And oh how sweet it tasted! Random story…we were out knocking and we knocked on this lady’s door named Nicola. I think the very first think I said to her was “Can I please use your toilet?” Not the most standard of finding techniques, but I don’t always go by the book. Anyway she looks at me for a second, sizing me up, and then pulls the door open and say “first door up the stairs.” Wow talk about the Good Samaritan. Anyway we get in a conversation after I come back down and she ends up inviting us into her back garden where she had been having a coffee with a friend. Her friend sees us come around the corner and says “What did you let the Mormons in for?!” Nicola turns to her and says “I may not believe in the crap that they preach to people, but you leave them alone!” These two women were the most hilarious people I have ever met. We had about an hour conversation with them and Nicola pulled out a couple of Diet Cokes for us. She told us in the midst of the conversation that she loves root beer. Loves it. Can’t get enough of it. Particularly A&W. She has a stash of it, and everybody knows that it is hallowed. No one can drink it but her. After our visit with her, I don’t think it particularly enthused her anymore about religion, but she sent us away with a can of A&W each, so she must have liked something about us. She told us to drink it when we were missing home. These two ladies were a complete laugh. It is Nicola’s birthday on Tuesday so we secured some Mug root beer from Sister Pilkington (she has a son in law who works for some American distribution company). Couldn’t get our hands on A&W, but pretty close. Hopefully she’ll like it.

Basically we got a lot of crap about the Fourth of July. I was talking to President Pilkington on the phone about something else, but by the end of the conversation he joked “Well I don’t know why I am doing any favors for an American on the Fourth of July, but there you go.” The British still kind of have hurt feelings about the whole thing ha. It was odd not to see fireworks here, but they do fireworks on Bonfire Night in November. The pictures were so fun to see of all of you gathered. As I went through each picture and got the sense of what your vacation was like I felt a surge of love for our family. I feel so lucky to have each of you. I can’t wait to hug your faces! Glad you had a good time. Save me a place next year 😉

Love, Sister Zurcher

 

The new digs in Darlington aboce a flower shop.
The new digs in Darlington aboce a flower shop.

DSC08254 DSC08248 DSC08250

P-day adventures: picking strawberries and raspberries at Church Lane Farm.
P-day adventures: picking strawberries and raspberries at Church Lane Farm.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Did I mention that Darlington is within very close radius to three seperate British national Parks? Beautiful.
Did I mention that Darlington is within very close radius to three seperate British national Parks? Beautiful.
1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

