David and Goliath

With all the elders in my MTC group that came out with me, and are now zone leaders. We see each other once a month at Mission Leadership Council. Such a fun group!
With all the elders in my MTC group that came out with me, and are now zone leaders. We see each other once a month at Mission Leadership Council. Such a fun group!

So I sort of forgot to fill you all in…but Sister Kuhn is with me again. She and Sister Peck swapped places a week and a half ago, so she is down in Leeds again, which was her first area. Sister Kuhn goes home December 3 and I go homeDecember 15…so I think we will probably die together in Darlo. Yeah for Darlington! Sister Kuhn is incredible…I will appreciate and love her for her friendship and support the rest of my life. Last Sunday we were asked to fill in as temporary Primary teachers for the 8-11 age group of kids at church. There is about five or six of them regularly. They are having a bit of a shortage of teachers because of the summer and a big family just moved out of the ward this week. So we taught them all on Sunday. Dad knows the Sunday school curriculum is Old Testament. I think we are a bit behind because we taught the David and Goliath lesson on Sunday. It was great fun…they are good kids. A little bit rowdy, but what kids aren’t? I’m sure Dad will be pleased to know that I’m following his lead with Sunday school. The thing that I love about a mission is that you have so much opportunity to influence people, whether they be outside the church or within the church. I hope Sister Kuhn and I can be a good example and influence to those kids…hopefully they will remember for a while that sister missionaries taught their primary class when they were younger. We brought Kinder-eggs for the end…which is like a chocolate egg with little prizes inside, so they had to like us after that.

We started up a weekly exercise class at the chapel….Sister Kuhn and I have been on an INSANITY kick. Anybody ever done the videos? Killer. Will totally kick your butt. We have been doing that in the mornings, and decided it might be a good thing to help bring investigators to the chapel. We are doing a weekly night of insanity. One of our investigators, Dani came and brought her friend, and then one of the YSA in the ward came too. It was well good. It was the perfect opportunity after, while we were stretching out and trying to catch our breath to talk about the gospel, and in the end we gave a chapel tour. It was all very natural. We ended up sitting in the chapel at the end for about 10 minutes and the spirit was really strong. Who would have thought Insanity and missionary work would mix? Both of the girls came to church on Sunday and LOVED it. In the world they have grown up in in Darlo, compromising values and morality is the norm. They loved the idea of temple marriage, and came out of gospel principles saying how they wanted to get baptized to be able to go to the temple. Solid. They are lovely girls.

People who grow up in Darlington seem to have a bit of rough lives. We had a chat to a group of people our age when we were knocking for a former last week. We talked to them for about 20 minutes. We found out that two of them had lost siblings to drug overdoses. How heartbreaking. How hard to find your way through life among all those influences and addictions. We definitely planted some seeds there. It is easier to relate to people our own age I think. That was pretty much our week! Hope you are all well!

Love, Sister Zurcher

In front of another war memorial. This is in the cutest town called Richmond, which is about 20 minutes out from Darlo.
In front of another war memorial. This is in the cutest town called Richmond, which is about 20 minutes out from Darlo.
Our fabulous zone Leaders, Elder Mulgrew, and Elder Leavitt (from Ireland and Las Vegas).
Our fabulous zone Leaders, Elder Mulgrew, and Elder Leavitt (from Ireland and Las Vegas).
In front of the Middlesborough chapel with the Billingham sisters.
In front of the Middlesborough chapel with the Billingham sisters.
With all the elders in my MTC group that came out with me, and are now zone leaders. We see each other once a month at Mission Leadership Council. Such a fun group!
With all the elders in my MTC group that came out with me, and are now zone leaders. We see each other once a month at Mission Leadership Council. Such a fun group!
Picture with some of the other Sister Training Leaders. (Sister Rawle, Wynder, me, and Kuhn).
Picture with some of the other Sister Training Leaders. (Sister Rawle, Wynder, me, and Kuhn).
2 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. Hello. I served in the ELM 25 years ago – it is wonderful to see that sisters are serving in Darlington – and I laugh because we called it Darlo too! I spent several months in Newton Ayecliffe, which is in the same district as Darlington- or was! We had 4 elders serving in Darlington at the time – I have some great memories of that time! I have fond memories of my time in the Leeds mission! I trained a sister from Sweden while in NA, and now my own son is serving in Sweden!

  2. Hey Amy! That is so cool to hear about you serving here that long ago! What a small world. We have a few sisters from Sweden. How did you come across my blog? Where are you living now? Newton Aycliffe is a seperate district now. We live directly in Darlington…Cockerton actually. There are two elders in the ward as well. Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

