The Beginning of the End

Welcome to Bishop Auckland!
Welcome to Bishop Auckland!

This week is the first week of the last transfer here in England for me. It seems like quite a landmark to be honest. Sister Wynder and I parted ways on Saturday, and Sister Dragoti, from Albania, and I are serving in Bishop Auckland. We are part of the Newton Aycliffe ward, which is basically where Sister Wynder and I have been attending church for the past three weeks. So I have an automatic leg up in coming into a new area. I’m excited! The town is quite small and very historical. There is a castle right down the road from our flat and some roman ruins as well. It is a very quaint area. It is fun to have a change as being in Darlington for so long, things kind of lost their luster. Not sure why exactly.

Friday night, our last night in Darlo, we said many goodbyes. Trish and Martin fed us tea and we bid them farewell. Then we dropped some cookies by Alison, an investigator who we haven’t been able to see much and said goodbye. Finally we dropped by Colin (Hi Colin, if you are reading!) and gave him a temple magazine and some non-alcohoic wine as a joke. It was an enjoyable last evening with great company (including all the dogs)! So basically this week has been sad/exciting/invigorating/exhausting. What a weird combination. But good things are ahead of us!  We have six missionaries in the ward now; two sets of elders and us. The Elders left our flat surprisingly clean which was a nice surprise, but we still had to rearrange some things to suit us. But we are settled in nicely and we have some great people to visit and teach. Vicki and her family live extremely close to us so that is fun.

All the sudden my time here seems very final and I want to make it count. I think every missionary comes to that point and it’s just a shame we can’t keep that mindset our whole missions. Bottom line? I am excited for the experiences that will come our way this next month and half or so. Good things will happen. I can just feel it! Can you?

Love, Sister Zurcher

Meet Sister Dragoti my new companion from Albania!
Meet Sister Dragoti my new companion from Albania!
We still have the car!
We still have the car!
We live in a cozy little flat that is very close to town center.
We live in a cozy little flat that is very close to town center.

DSC08480

 

DSC08484

Why can't American mail boxes be as cute as the Royal Mail postboxes. I'm really going to miss that.
Why can’t American mail boxes be as cute as the Royal Mail postboxes. I’m really going to miss that.
3 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. Hello , I think I have left a comment for you before. I served in the Leeds mission 1989-90, and served in Newton Aycliffe. We only went to Bishop Auckland a few times, but I’d have to dig in my journals to see who the members were there- and of course they attended the NA ward. Wonderful to hear that there are 6 missionaries serving in the ward, we only had us sisters, and also a couple who we lived with at Fox Place. It is fun for me to read about my old areas! I remember the ROberts family well from that area.. and the Hodgsons as well in NA. Enjoy well the remainder of your mission!

  2. It’s always amazing how slow a mission feels at first and then how the momentum builds to lightning speed by the end. Enjoy each moment and make every last day count! ♡
    p.s. I love your darling historic town and that cute flat.

Leave a Reply

